Educator panel set for developing new Indian ed standards

Nov 21, 2017 By Katie Roenigk, Staff Writer

Two-thirds of the people who will participate in the state's new Social Studies Standards Review Committee have ties to Fremont County.

The group of 25 was formed as a result of legislation passed this year to include American Indian education in sate social studies standards.

House Enrolled Act 119 states that all Wyoming students should receive information about regional American Indian tribes, including the Northern Arapahoe and Eastern Shoshone of the Wind River Indian Reservation.


Committee membership is divided into grade levels of focus.

The K-2 group includes Fremont County School District 38 (Arapahoe) 21st Century Learning coordinator Teresa HisChase and Northern Arapaho Tribal Historic Preservation Office archaeological technician Yufna Soldier Wolf.


Those considering standards for grades 3-5 include Fremont County School District 25 Rendezvous Elementary School teacher Shawn Peck, local artist and art instructor Eugene Ridgley, FCSD 38 educator Iva Moss-Redman, and Shoshone Business Council member Leslie Shakespeare.

Middle school

Committee members representing middle school education include Fort Washakie head coach George Abeyta, FCSD 25 Title VII facilitator Celeste Spoon-hunter, Wyoming Indian Middle School eighth-grade teacher Lynette St. Clair, and Fort Washakie Middle School library staff member John Washakie, who has worked as an educational consultant in the past, according to previous reports.

High school

Local committee members with a high school focus will be Wyoming Indian head coach Jed Anderson, former local athlete Homer Bennett, former Central Wyoming College trustee and current Fort Washakie Learning Center director Caroline Mills, FCSD 38 federal programs director Patrick Moss, former Northern Arapaho Department of Family Services director and current University of Wyoming Native American Education Research and Cultural Center director James Trosper, and Fremont County School District 14 (Wyoming Indian) superintendent Owen St. Clair.

Other members include Kim Knoblock, Kate Mead, Nancy Nelson and Donna Tinsley (grades K-2); Beth Clingman and Suzanne Nelson (grades 3-5); Amberlee Beardsley and Tom Rea (middle school); and Stephany Anderson (high school).

So far

The new committee convened this month to begin reviewing the ways Wyoming social studies content and performance standards address American Indian history, culture and contemporary contributions.

Mills said their first meeting last week involved watching a webinar to familiarize the members with the process of reviewing social studies standards.

Next week, the group will take part in a two-day training at the Wind River Job Corps Center in Riverton. WDE officials said additional meetings will be held through January.

Print Story
Read The Lander Journal...